Picture
    The Lydia Ann Lighthouse is located between Saint Joseph Island to the north and Mustang Island to the south. This Lighthouse marks the pass that leads to the Port of Corpus Christi located about 20 miles to the west.  It was constructed in 1851 with a budget of 12,500 set by congress.  During the Civil War the property ownership was passed repeatedly between Confederate and Union forces. On Christmas Day in 1862 Confederate General John B. Magruder ordered that the tower be destroyed, the top 25 feet of the tower was destroyed.  In 1867 the tower was restored in perfect working order. For more info about the Lydia Ann Lighthouse please click here

    Today it still stands and is an amazing site to see. My family and I have been there many times just to study its beauty. Although you cannot go in the lighthouse it is still pretty cool to see it from a boat.  All around the lighthouse is marsh area which is excellent fishing and bird watching. The area around it is called the Lighthouse Lakes. There are four trails ranging for 1.25 miles to 6.8 miles. These trails will produce outstanding bird watching and fishing for redfish, spotted seatrout, and flounder. I have followed several of these trails stalking Redfish in my Kayak with my fly rod trying to catch them. I also know several people that love to come here and do some bird watching while on these trails. You can come here year round to fish, bird watch or just enjoy your day.  I might also add that this is a no prop zone, which means no boats with engines can enter this area because the sea grass is protected.  So if you have a kayak you can come here all you want.  If you are not from this area there are many places to stay in Port Aransas, Aransas Pass, and Corpus Christi. If you do not have a boat or kayak you can still visit the Lighthouse. You can do this by visiting Dolphin encounters which is located at Deep Sea Headquarters in Port Aransas, the first building on the left when you exit the ferry. When you schedule a trip with Dolphin encounters your experience will include dolphin watching, seeing the Lydia Ann lighthouse, shipwrecks, Native and migratory birds and the surrounding islands. I personally haven’t been on this boat because my family owns our own boat but from the people I know and have talked to it is a great experience. 

    This area is great to take your family and friends for a little excitement and a history lesson. This Lighthouse is truly a site you will want to visit and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in seeing something new and amazing. This is my favorite place to go when I want to get away and be by myself. My mom and dad took me here and when I have my own family I will take them there to share this amazing scene with them.   


Cydnee Edwards
10/24/2012 12:16:21 am

Hi, I am in your techincal writing and I was drawn to your blog from the beginning. I love to read about different nature and wildlife experiences that people have. The fact that your topic for your blog has to do with a lighthouse is so cool.The way that you tell the history of the lighthouse and the surounding areas is so amazing. Reading your blog opened up my eyes to a nice vacation spot at which I can learn a little history, while getting to eat flounder. I really want to go and visit this place now, just for the lighthouse and dolphins.

Reply



Leave a Reply.