Picture
How many of us really know our neighbors?  I know that I don’t know any of them, sharing a hello in passing is the only exchange that we experience.   I am sure that I am not the only one who has experienced this. I am also sure that I am not the only person that is bothered by this.  It can lead to a sense of loneliness and isolation that is hard to cope with.  Compound this with being far away from any friends or family and the feelings of isolation, and loneliness can grow to depression and affect quality of life of the individual.

Upon considering the matter, I have come to the conclusion that I must come up with some way for other students and individuals in my area to attempt to alleave the sense of loneliness that often accompanies the onset of the holiday season.   I thought on several different avenues that could be followed to reach my goal, but the one that I have settled on is a community potluck. 

                The basis for a potluck is to invite every neighbor and friend that you can get ahold of, and encourage them to each bring a dish of food to add together and create a massive multicultural feast for everyone to share and enjoy.  It also serves to give everyone in the neighborhood or community the chance to get to meet and know their neighbors that up to this time may never have had the chance to meet any of their neighbors. 

With a support system of friends, an individual can beat back the feelings of isolation and loneliness and prosper far from home, even when things begin to get tough.  





Leave a Reply.

    Calan Coleman

    Howdy, I'm Calan and this is my blog post.  I am currently enrolled at A&M Kingsville, Texas studying to be a wildlife biologist.  As you can probably tell by my title pictures, I live, breath, fish, and hunt  traditional archery.  I make all my own arrows and tackle.  

    Archives

    November 2012
    October 2012

    Categories

    All